you are all I want

Neil Armstrong, one of the first two men to la...

Neil Armstrong, one of the first two men to land on the Moon, and the first to walk on it, in 1969 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

there are times
when I feel such unbounded confidence
that I could theorize like an Einstein
write music like Sibelius or Lennon and McCartney
free the slaves like Lincoln
or take a giant leap like Neil Armstrong

but all I really want is you
love may be all I need
but you are all I want

so, I hope that you can forgive me
if in the end
all that I ever really achieve
is to win your love

, , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on May 4, 2012 - 9:47 am

    never underestimate the importance of confidence or the impact of the lack thereof. This poem didn’t really get much reworking. But I think I improved on the original. Here’s my old college version:

    you are all I want

    there are times
    when I feel an energy
    flow through me
    that I can do anything I want
    be whatever I want to be

    but all I really want
    is you

    I feel I could theorize like Einstein
    write music like Lennon and McCartney
    lead the world like a Lincoln
    or
    sit and watch everything happen
    like any common man

    but all I really want
    is you

    love may be all I need
    but you are all
    I want

Leave a Reply

