If Not For You

The Hubble Space Telescope (HST) begins its se...

Image via Wikipedia

it’s just for you
that I’m lonely
it’s just for you
I cry
but now I wonder why
my love

if not for you
my world would be
a better place
I know
a place
where it never snows
and nothing grows

if not for you
my world would be
a symphony
in an endless sea
only me
no company

if not for you
my world would be
a dark and silent place
apart from the human race
way out in space

it’s just for you that I’m sorry
it’s just for you I dream
but now it all seems
a waste

“If Not For You” © 1983 Ronald K. House

, , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on October 18, 2011 - 9:15 am

    What exactly is a “place where it never snows and nothing grows”? Is that supposed to be hell? If so, why would that be a “better place”. I guess I felt I was in a worse place at the time. I wish I could remember what I meant by that. I still like the song, even if I don’t quite understand some parts of it. Unfortunately, I can’t edit or rework the songs now, but I may rewrite some of the poems later.

    The “way out in space” part doesn’t sound so bad to me now, if I were Bill Gates I’d use my fortune to build a space ship that could explore the solar system and then I’d fly off in it. Oh yeah!

Leave a Reply

