When You Reach Out to Me

Wife

Image by Stephen Fulljames via Flickr

my love don’t turn away from me
this life is both of ours you see
and jealousy and misery
are being born in me
my love don’t let this be

a child is born and life renewed
when you reach out to me

my love don’t hold yourself so tight
I need to be with you tonight
and love will grow and we will know
the most beautiful sight
yes, the most beautiful sight

a child is born and life renewed
when you reach out to me
a child is born and life renewed
when you reach out to me
when you reach out to me

“When You Reach Out to Me” © 1983 Ronald K. House

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on October 20, 2011 - 4:49 pm

    I seem to remember that this song was written in sympathy for a friend who was having some difficulties in his marriage at the time. His was wife pregnant and I did not begin to comprehend what all that really meant for many, many years. A woman’s body goes through so much, it is just simply astounding. I assume, I might write a different song today, adding the wife’s perspective to the narrative. I think it is obvious now that I knew nothing of the emotions really going on between the couple, since I only knew what my friend was telling me. And didn’t really understand that either. However, I have always had strong paternal instincts and it seems that was somehow injected into the song.

Leave a Reply

