I Don’t Know What To Say

Cover of the first edition of Poems of Passion...

Image via Wikipedia

i wanted to write a poem for you
one that would say something meaningful too
but I don’t know what to say or do
I don’t know what to say to you

poems of love are mushy
poems of death are sad
poems of life and reality often turn out bad
and I don’t know what to say or do
I don’t know what to say to you

words can mean so many things
they can be the light that brings
hope to humanity
but, sometimes they get turned around
and i wouldn’t want to bring anyone down
from the clouds to the ground
because, I don’t know what to say or do
I don’t know what to say to you

no, I don’t know what to say
don’t want to point the way
and I haven’t got a thing in me
worth writing down for posterity

“I Don’t Know What To Say” © 1983 Ronald K. House

,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on October 21, 2011 - 7:17 am

    I must have made a serious boo boo at the end of this recording, since I backed up the tape and re-recorded the ending.

Leave a Reply

