Night Love

Jespahjoy - The Moon tonight (by)

Image via Wikipedia

starlight
sing your song of love tonight
please listen to me starlight
and make everything right

moon glow
in your light our love will grow
softly now moon glow
don’t let her tell me no

candle light
romance is in the air tonight
and when she says alright
my world will turn bright

“Night Love” © 1983 Ronald K. House

, ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on October 21, 2011 - 6:54 am

    Perhaps my best attempt to write a simple, silly little love song. The lyrics date back to my first summer school session after my first year at Purdue.

  2. #2 by Ronald Kirk House on December 27, 2012 - 4:47 am

    Reblogged this on It's Just Words and commented:

    The lyrics for this song predate the recording by about four years, making this one of my oldest songs. I think the simple music was in my head from the beginning, so I’m not sure why it took me so long to take a few minutes to pick up my guitar and record it.

  3. #3 by mixedupmeme on December 27, 2012 - 6:00 am

    I love the poem and the song. I have downloaded it. I wish I had the chords to play and sing it. It is a beautiful song and recording.

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on December 27, 2012 - 8:04 am

      I’m so glad you liked it! I wish I knew the chords, too. Although, I had forgotten how to read musical notation for the most part by the time I started writing music in college, it would have been easy enough for me to, at least, write down the chords! But, I never did. Unfortunately, at the time I thought it was enough to record the music on a tape to jog my memory. For years, I played my favorites of my songs over and over and knew them all by heart. All I had to do was pull out the sheet with the words. But all is long forgotten now, I fear. Since, I really have hardly played any of my guitars for decades.

      I was actually inspired to reblog this one after listening to and liking several of your charming songs. You are a much better singer than I ever was. You have such a beautiful voice.

  4. #5 by mixedupmeme on December 28, 2012 - 3:42 am

    Thank you for the compliment. Maybe I am just braver than most to post silly stuff. If I didn’t put a few songs in I would have nada to say. I have to have chords.

    Some years ago I spend hours every day looking for chords and writing out all the words and putting the chords. I think I probably have 500 songs and more in my Word Files. Mostly old 30’s, 40’s stuff. I don’t hear any tune from today’s music. lol

    I tell this….not because it is something great….but because I think you would understand the work it took and the passion that was needed to do it. I cry thinking that when I ‘go’ all that work will just be deleted by my heirs who could careless about mom and her songs. lol

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on December 28, 2012 - 3:54 am

      Wow, I do understand the work you have done. That is an amazing effort and shows a lot of passion. I also understand how you feel about all your efforts just being deleted. That is part of the reason I wanted to post all of my old stuff on this blog. If my wife had cared for any of my music or poetry, I would have probably would have started writing again when we first met over twenty years ago. But it’s not her thing. She doesn’t even bother to read my blog. LOL. My mom is really the only person besides myself to sit and actually listen to several of my tapes of music. And, of course, she was just being a good mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

