The Sister of the Sea

A Mermaid by John William Waterhouse.

Image via Wikipedia

I hear her singing
crying out to me
asking me to follow her
out to the sea

she’s drifting away
on the waves
her breasts rise and fall
she waits for me
as she floats eternally
the sister of the sea

the tides come and go
the sea moves in and out
as I swim out to meet her
and together we slip under
under cover of the sea

suddenly, I’m all alone
and suddenly I begin to sink
I follow her one last time
to the end of the rhyme
to the bottom of the drink

I hear her singing
crying out to me
calling me to follow her
to eternity
the sister of the sea

“The Sister of the Sea” © 1982 Ronald K. House

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on December 27, 2011 - 1:28 am

    I have no idea what inspired me to write about a mermaid. I’ve never seen or heard a mermaid or a siren calling me to the crashing waves. Maybe, I saw Splash or some other movie that inspired me, but I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

