I Must Be Strong (Cry Atlas, Cry)

Atlas and globe Earth Galleries NHM London
I think that I think
love is a weakness
and I must be strong

I am the one
the constant
if I fail or surrender
there is no hope
all that has gone and
all to come
will pass

I stand tall with outstretched arms
holding things in place
forever straining
with a strength directly proportional
to the weight applied
never gaining
never losing
always holding

and I’m tired
so very tired
longing to lie down
closing my eyes
to rest
but I can’t

sometimes, I think that I think
everyone, everything
depends on me
and I must be strong

but, I could be wrong

“I Must Be Strong (Cry Atlas Cry)” © 1982 Ronald K. House

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on December 30, 2011 - 7:04 am

    Carrying the weight of the world? Ha, that’s nothing, Atlas. Try being a father and a husband. That’s something.

Leave a Reply

