Just Pretend

Strip Club30

Image by Todd_Cliff via Flickr

if I sang you a song
would you dance awhile
for me
if I gave you all I have
would you give me
all I need

or would you just pretend to be happy
or would you just pretend to be my friend

if I whistled a tune for you
would you smile awhile
for me
if I gave you a five
would you show me
what I can’t see

or would you just pretend to be normal
or would you just pretend to be my friend

an object to be seen
but not touched
a lust to be revealed
but not fulfilled

it’s a poor, poor substitute for love
but I guess
it’s all there is
it’s a poor, poor substitute for love
but I guess
it’s all there is

or would you just pretend to be my friend
or would you just pretend to be my friend


“Just Pretend” © 1982 Ronald K. House

, , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on December 28, 2011 - 9:45 am

    I made friends with a guy when he was moving out of the apartment complex that I lived in as a co-op student in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. I helped him move his furniture, I think. He liked going out to a strip club in Knoxville, called the Mouse’s Ear. So, he invited me to go along with him a few times. I think he said he was sorta “dating” one of the girls that worked there. Not sure if that was true or not. It was hard to tell, since all the girls were very friendly as long as he was giving out money for table dances. I guess, I never understood why a guy would want to go to the club and just get all frustrated. Did I miss the point? Certainly, the girls were attractive and were pretty good dancers. I got a real eyeful of the beautiful feminine form there. To this day, every time I hear Bob Seger’s “Her Strut” I think of the Mouse’s Ear dancers.

Leave a Reply

