Old Friends

Old friends with time

Image by Martin Kimeldorf's Pixel Playground via Flickr

tonight old friend
I thought of you
as I guess old friends often do

today I have no friends, no enemies
just people I work for
and people who work for me
a mechanical cog in a faceless society

each day I work and earn my pay
but I remember yesterday
each day I work and earn my pay
but I remember yesterday
my old friend

today I have no friends, no enemies
just people I work for
and people who work for me

it’s been a long, long time
it’s been a long, long time
since I’ve felt fine
my old friend

lonely days
lonely nights
now I spend my time looking back

lonely days
lonely nights
now I spend my time looking back

it’s been a long, long time
it’s been a long, long time
since I’ve felt fine
my old friend

I remember my old friends
as I guess we all do
perhaps even you too

“Old Friends” © 1983 Ronald K. House

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on January 2, 2012 - 12:19 am

    This is a re-recording from my lost tape of songs which may explain why the last stanza is dropped from the recording. There was also the following stanza that may or may not have been in the original recording.

    I remembered the good times
    we’d shared
    and all those things that
    we’ve wished we dared to do
    while at pretty girls we stared
    and felt blue
    but together old friend
    together

    And come to think of it, it has been a long, long time since I’ve felt fine.

Leave a Reply

