A Word From Above

Mailbox with brick background

Image via Wikipedia

oh I’ve left my inspiration
left her and went away
and now I don’t feel good at all
and I’m not half as tall
as I was
as I was

I’ve never waited so anxiously
for some word in a letter
never really cared before
never really cared before

and not just any words
for only her words
can make me feel better
can make me feel better

her words are my words
and my words are love
love is all there is
love is all there is
love is all there is

and still I’m waiting for
some message to come
to me
to me
to me

from the woman on the pedestal up above
waiting for my inspiration to come
waiting for my inspiration
to come
to come

“A Word from Above” © 1982 Ronald K. House

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on January 8, 2012 - 4:34 am

    My son asked me recently why I stopped writing music. I told him, “I stopped after I graduated from college. I flew to CA to work and didn’t have my guitars, just a suitcase. So, I started spending all my time on software for work. Also, I just didn’t feel the inspiration anymore.” He felt that was sad. I’m just happy that I have these songs that survived to listen to again and bring back some special moments of inspiration. Happy and sad.

    This song is the last song on the January 82 tape. Just two tapes from 81 left to upload to finish this little project.

    Update: Well, I just finished splitting apart the tracks for the final two tapes. Not really sure if these are worth uploading or not. The songs just keep getting weaker as I go further back. I’ll have to think about it. May not be worth the effort.

  2. #2 by bellesogni on October 19, 2012 - 12:10 pm

    Yes it IS worth the effort! Please do it.

    This song made me see you as a troubadour wandering tthough the Renaissance doing all the things troubadours do – and that was a lot! (smiles)

    • #3 by Ronald Kirk House on September 19, 2014 - 9:29 pm

      Ah thank you. You always give me so much encouragement. I miss you and hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

