Shifting Gears

Gear shift stick of my Mazda Protege SE 1999.

Image via Wikipedia

whenever I get in a rut I shift gears
never knowing if I’m going to burn out or stop
until I do, but whatever I do
the change of pace makes me feel like new

it’s good for me to feel free
to move in mysterious ways
leaving the straight line
for those who think they know
where they’re going
even though, it’s just not so

because I really know where we’re going
nowhere
but between here and there
from now to the end of the road
I have a lot of things I want to do
places to go to

shifting gears

“Shifting Gears” © 1982 Ronald K. House

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on January 8, 2012 - 2:50 am

    Just four years later, in 1986, my 1984 Chevrolet Camaro Z28 with 5.0 H.O. engine was stolen. I got up and came outside of my apartment in Knoxville TN to go to work and it just wasn’t there. Talk about heartbreak. I loved that car. I went to buy a new Camaro but the dealer wasn’t playing straight with me, so I stopped at a Mazda dealer and instead bought a 86 RX7 with a manual transmission. That beauty almost shifted itself. Really smooth. I miss that little car. All of which, of course, has absolutely nothing to do with this song.

  1. Shifting..err..Grinding Gears « renplus

Leave a Reply

