Day Dreaming

Iridescent clouds

Image via Wikipedia

my mind is far away
floating on a darkened cloud
thinking always of her
and alone in a curious crowd

I half wonder what I’m doing
not knowing where I am
and not caring when I will find my way back
assuming, that I even can

I look around carefully
noting everything that I can’t see
while all that I’m aware of
is the inner me

drifting from here to there
on a road to eternity
and daydreaming of a better life
than I know I will ever see

uncertain if I want to return
thinking I might stay
floating overhead on a cloud
my mind is far away

“Day Dreaming” © 1981 Ronald K. House

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on January 10, 2012 - 9:17 am

    The recording of this song actually ran from side A across to side B of the tape. My little cassette recorder just kept going. You can hear a little distortion at the end of the tape just before where I joined the two parts back together.

Leave a Reply

