Pam

Thin, dark pickguard on acoustic guitar

Image via Wikipedia

Pam I love you
more than any girl
I’ve ever met before
this I know for sure
because now I’m alone
when I’m without you
I’m alone again, alone again

I just
can’t stand
to be
without you
my love
Pam, Pam

the sun was shining overhead
the day I met you
Pam, I love you

Pam you mean more to me
than Life itself
and now that your gone
I’m all by myself
without you
I can’t live, can’t live

my life has no meaning
when I’m without you
I can’t forget you

Pam I want you
more than anything I’ve ever wanted
and I want to tell you
that I’ll always be here waiting for you
always waiting, always hoping

I just
can’t stand
to be
without you
my love
Pam, Pam

the sun will shine once again
when you return to me
how happy we will be
Pam just you and me
Pam just you and me

I just
can’t stand
to be
without you
my love
Pam, Pam

Pam, Oh Pam

“Pam” © 1981 Ronald K. House

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on January 13, 2012 - 8:03 am

    This is the first song I ever wrote. Compare it, if you will, to the last song I wrote, “I’m Just a Fool In Love“. Did I get any better over the few years of writing? Hard to say. And, sadly, I can’t even remember the real Pam. I don’t remember when I knew her or what she looked like or why she inspired me to write this song. Until I dug out my poetry notebooks, I thought Pam was the girl from summer school at Purdue. But that’s not the case, it was just faulty memory. Forgive me Pam for having forgotten you over the long years. At least I still have this song.

    One of my longer and perhaps most complex songs, it also has the distinction that you can hear me pause and turn over my lyric notes in the middle of the long recording. This song also has one of my favorite intro/finish instrumentals. It set a pattern that I would refine and repeat over the next few years.

    I think this may be the last song I’ll upload. Most of these early songs really haven’t aged well for me. Not that I’ve aged well, so I should be more sympathetic. This one, however, just seems appropriate as a finish.

Leave a Reply

