In Glorious Shades of Gray

Donizetti's aria serves as theme to the events...

Image via Wikipedia

in the darkness of the nether day
where misfortune and confusion lay
I stumble blindly having completely lost my way
and kneel down but fear I have forgotten how to pray

I hear the distant beating rhythms of high and low
and look down a darkened path where I fear to go
wanting to turn around to meet the person I used to know
standing there all alone hiding in my shadow

but there is no way to return to the beginning
there is no way to stop the world from endlessly spinning
I’m caught in a game with no hope of ever winning
waiting for the candle flame to flicker out to a final ending

 

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on February 7, 2012 - 9:14 am

    This started as an old Edgar Allan Poe wanna-be poem based upon one of my favorite motifs, the shades of gray. But I felt the original didn’t come close to making my point. I was throwing around the words and having fun, but not coming close to hitting the target. So by the time I was done with my latest revision, very little of the original version remained.

    In Shades of Gray

    shades of gray the truth to say
    in the darkness of the nether day
    where misfortune and confusion lay
    as we watch the sand slip away

    so the beating and the rumble go
    rhythms of high and low
    and all that we think we know
    but in the end is all just so-so
    listening to the wind blow
    a wailing “oh no”

    sad to say I went down a hopeless way
    and nothing’s left today
    no constant to obey
    the same old game to play
    and all the lost time to while away
    in the gutter in a random way

    shades of gray with the truth do play
    and all in all who can say
    who can say?

    all is in shades of gray

Leave a Reply

