Meandering Thoughts

Sleepy

Image via Wikipedia

random thoughts of this and that
come and go
surges of inspiration flash by
never to be seen again

half finished essays
half baked ideas
disjointed glimpses
unconnected trails of thought
winding in and out
leading nowhere
beginning no place
and amounting to nothing

nothing more than an instant of eternity
here and gone
to mark the passing of time
in my life
a tired life

unfocused eyes stare
dimly
as heavy eyelids close
slowly

and random thoughts meander
noting time
there is time enough later
for whatever

, , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on February 7, 2012 - 9:45 am

    Often right as I try to go to sleep my mind seems to race thinking of all sorts of things as if trying to keep me from sleep. I’ll tell myself, “I’ll follow up on that tomorrow”. I’ll write down that symphony as soon as I get up. etc. Of course, I’m a trusting soul so I believe myself, but it’s not gonna happen. I console myself, with the honest assessment that most of those ideas are pretty stupid come the light of day anyway. If I can even remember them which, of course, often I can’t.

    The only thing I changed for this old college poem, was the title. The original title was “zzz…”.

Leave a Reply

