Do you feel lucky, punk?

Mission: Earth, Voyage to the Home Planet

Image via Wikipedia

sometimes
when I’m worrying about how to pay my bills
and whining that my house has lost half its value
so that my mortgage is under water
and my son can’t find a job
because the economy sucks
and the price of gas is rising
while fossil fuels are being depleted
and China and India are growing
Iran is working underground to build nuclear weapons
and the Fed is printing dollars like nobody’s business
and my wife likes to gamble and smoke
way too much

I remember that
I am sentient and
live on a planet in a stable orbit
around a warm yellow sun
that four billion years ago was formed
in the habitable zone
and somehow survived
a collision with another Mars sized planet
to end up with a moon
that helps stabilize our rotation
and probably helps keep our planet’s geodynamo
which generates an electromagnetic field
which protects the planet
from the charged particles in the solar wind
that would perhaps otherwise blow away our atmosphere and
destroy all life as we know it

I’ve lived fifty plus years, so far
in relative health
during the amazing computer age
with two wonderful children
a boy and a girl
I have a home and a challenging job
working with computer software
which I love to do
I’ve gotten a higher education
and enjoy a higher standard of living
than many people living today
in a country that values liberty and freedom

it’s kinda like I’ve won the lottery

, , , ,

  1. #1 by kwaikwai on March 3, 2012 - 5:18 pm

    Wonderful

  2. #2 by Michael Wood on March 4, 2012 - 6:52 am

    We all have.

Leave a Reply

