get the silver bullets, I think I heard myself howling

A German woodcut of werewolf from 1722.

A German woodcut of werewolf from 1722. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

she left me swinging on a cumulus cloud
lazily waiting for the sun to shine
ridiculously dancing around in the falling rain
just wasting away my precious time

before, with her I was walking on air
higher than the tallest Sequoia trees
my spirit floating fancy free and all my cares
blowing away in the late summer breeze

then I heard a sound like a werewolf howling in horror
a poor creature driven crazy by the light of the moon
and left cowering all alone in the cold of night
only whispering my mournful story of my impending doom

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on April 24, 2012 - 9:07 am

    The original for this was purposely a little more obtuse to say the least. The meaning is lost on me and I don’t even comprehend what I wanted to accomplish with it. So, I may have taken the revision along a slightly alternative path. It’s hard to say.

    only show (fire and brimstone cometh)

    swinging on a cloud
    singing sunshine
    drinking in the rain
    just wastin’ time

    walking on air
    higher than the tallest trees
    floating fancy free
    blowin’ in the breeze

    say, starshine, super-show
    holy moses that glow
    the meaning of what I say
    nobody will know
    except show

    white fang werewolf
    howling horror
    driven crazy and cold
    only listenin’ to the story
    she told, she told
    it’s only a show

    only show
    she comes, she comes

Leave a Reply

