return to hushabye mountain

Last Sail Under a Full Moon

Last Sail Under a Full Moon (Photo credit: kippbakr)

it’s time to return to Hushabye Mountain
now that I’m old and my hair has turned gray
down by the key, for my boat, I’ll be waiting
as the sun slowly sets at the end of the day

the wind now blows cold from Hushabye Mountain
and white capped waves rock the boats in lullaby bay
on a final voyage, I soon will be sailing
waving good-bye to my friends, under the salty sea spray

so, I say one last good-bye to Hushabye Mountain
and look forward to a time with no more cares of the day
I climb aboard my boat as the sails are unfurling
and sail far away from lullaby bay

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on April 26, 2012 - 4:49 am

    Anybody remember “Hushabye Mountain”? Dick Van Dyke (as Caractacus Potts) always brings tears to my eyes when he sings “Hushabye Mountain” (by Sherman and Sherman) to his children in the film “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang”. It is such a pretty lullaby. Unlike most of my posts which date back or at least start from originals that date back to my college days, this one is brand new. I watched “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang” on TV recently and the melody was in my head today at work. I thought of most of the lyrics while at work intending them to fit with the original melody. Then wrote them down as soon as I got home.

    The Zoup also has a pretty cool “rock” cover version of “Hushabye Mountain”. Check it out, if you are interested. Now, if you will excuse me, my boat is waiting.

  2. #2 by jensine on April 26, 2012 - 1:22 pm

    that is very beautiful, haunting even

    • #3 by RKHouse on April 27, 2012 - 5:55 am

      Thanks. I wanted so much to do my best to capture the elegance and simplicity of the Sherman and Sherman lullaby song that I find so moving and take it into a new direction. As if, perhaps, I was a child of Caractacus that has grown old and remembers the song from his youth and is yearning to return to Hushabye Mountain for that final blissful sleep.

  3. #4 by Ronald Kirk House on July 3, 2013 - 7:36 pm

    Reblogged this on It's Just Words and commented:

    Nothing new, so I Thought I’d reblog some older posts for a few days. Hope you enjoy them.

  4. #5 by Alarna Rose Gray on July 4, 2013 - 3:42 pm

    This is truly beautiful… and with that picture, too! It makes one want to set sail…succumb…

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on July 4, 2013 - 3:48 pm

      Thanks. I love the picture, too! It was just what I was looking for to go with the words.

Leave a Reply

