the lone rider

Pa Only Touched the High Places

Pa Only Touched the High Places (Photo credit: Jan Tik)

I ride the range alone
one man searching for his destiny
I’m not looking for trouble
but trouble is always looking for me

my horse and I cross the dusty dry desert land
perhaps someday we’ll find a decent little town
a peaceful hamlet with green grass near a rushing river
where my guitar and I can find a wife and settle down

till then, I sit tall in the saddle
with a white hat and ivory handled gun
I fight the bad guys, save the lady and the day
and then ride off into the setting sun

, , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on April 30, 2012 - 3:30 am

    This is a poem that I first wrote back in high school. I always loved that John Wayne “Tall In the Saddle” film, so I had to sneak that line in. I really tightened this one up from the original, I think:

    and they call me

    they call me the midnight sun
    I ride the range alone
    I’m not looking for tomorrow
    don’t remember the days that have gone

    tall in the saddle
    with a white hat and gun
    fight the bad guys, when I can
    save the lady and the day
    and ride off
    into the setting sun

    they call me the lone rider
    one man who stands for good
    fighting evil without and within
    waiting for it all
    to come to an end

    only hoping without hope
    it will begin again
    so, I ride the wind

Leave a Reply

