now that’s what I call a magic trick

RAOK Suggestion #5 Do a magic trick

RAOK Suggestion #5 Do a magic trick (Photo credit: garethjmsaunders)

for all I know, there’s no reason for this
and no explanation for that
so, I wonder is there a grandiose plan behind it all?
is there an ark hiding on top of Mount Ararat?

there’s a place for everything
but it seems that nothing’s in its place
while my father sits at the dinner table
patiently waiting for me to finish saying grace

tell me, is there any hope for the future, small though it may be?
is it too late to shed a tear for the past, single and lonely?
still everyone goes along blindly and lives for today
each hoping, I suppose, that it won’t be their last

and my teacher says there’s a law of gravity
which plainly states that what goes up must come down
but the fact that we’re all going in pointless, endless circles
doesn’t prove that the Earth is round

then there is the old long, white bearded guru on the hill
who for a dime will tell you where it’s at
but if it’s not up his sleeve then I humbly suggest
that you better look under his hat

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on May 7, 2012 - 3:45 am

    Ah I was such skeptic in my youth, wasn’t I? I think I overused and twisted lot’s of “common phrases” in this old college poem. I wonder if it was for some silly assignment or something. Or, maybe, I was just in that kind of a mood. Maybe, it was just one of those days.

  2. #2 by Ina on May 7, 2012 - 6:25 am

    I love this poem. That we go around in circles, doesn’t mean the world is round 🙂

    • #3 by RKHouse on May 7, 2012 - 7:14 am

      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I don’t remember what I was thinking when I wrote this one, but it sure seems to me that I was having fun with it.

Leave a Reply

