touched by her smile

Female smile.

Female smile. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

when she smiles, all is right
her smile touches me
like soft, gentle hands caressing me

her smile and the sun light up the sky
sending the physics of my reality all awry
warming my very soul like golden sunshine

when she laughs, my heart leaps
for she has given me something for keeps
that forever lightens the darkness in my tired soul

when her eyes look down
and I see the start of a sad frown
I only wish that my smile could touch her, too

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on May 7, 2012 - 1:26 am

    The original version of the old college poem of mine only had two stanzas and I always felt it was unfinished. So, I stole the line “her smile and the sun light up the sky” from another poem that I’d written but that is also unfinished, because I always liked that line a lot. Then, I wrapped a little more around it and it seemed closer to finished than before. I really wanted to get something about laughter in there, because I really love it when a girl laughs at my jokes. Here was the original:

    a touch of smiles

    when she smiles, all is right
    her smile touches me
    like her soft hands caressing me
    although she doesn’t even know me

    when her eyes look down
    or her face comes to a frown
    I wish that my smile
    could touch her, too

Leave a Reply

