I rape the night

Rape seed caught at sunset

Rape seed caught at sunset (Photo credit: jimmedia)

I rape the night
lusting for the absence of light
forever safely hidden in the shadows

my thoughts move mountains
until I am buried in my own dirt
and laid to rest in a coffin of my own design

my meaning meanders
speaking with all possible candor
lying thru my smiling ceramic teeth

falling for fickle females
tasty trip wires and magical spells
deadly traps easily catching stupid saps

blinded by mine own bright
fumbling if I might
killing time on cheap wine

all the time knowing
something is not right
I rape the night

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by bellesogni on July 31, 2012 - 11:04 am

    Not always, but usually there is one or two lines of a poem that really standout to me. I can’t write that about this poem because the whole poem is that way. For me, there are a few layers and they are all very interesting. I wonder what you were thinking when you wrote it and why it floods my imagination in so many directions. It is excellent!

    • #2 by RKHouse on August 11, 2012 - 8:24 am

      I can’t remember what I was thinking or what inspired this poem. I do recognize several phrases and concepts that I remember using back in college that are captured in this poem. I remember several times staying up all night at Purdue just talking with some of my dorm friends. It seemed our minds were so full of ideas and we would just talk the night away. Ah, the energy of youth.

Leave a Reply

