in a WWI fighter with Zooey Deschanel

Vought VE-7

Vought VE-7 (Photo credit: San Diego Air & Space Museum Archives)

Last night. I dreamed I was a member of a group of fighter pilots that were graduating from a new flight school. We were the first to graduate and had to go to another, older school to pass our final flight tests or something. The final test was a multiple day series of various air combat scenarios. The other school treated us like outcasts and gave us the worst aircraft they had available. But we were determined to show them what we could do. At first they gave me an old beat up Vietnam era F4, but the engines wouldn’t light. So, then the lead officer of the operation laughed and said give him the old WWI Vought VE-7 Bluebird Fighter biplane. I was disappointed to lose the F4, but didn’t want to let them know that.

Zooey Deschanel

Zooey Deschanel (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At the pre-flight briefing I was assigned to fly with a female pilot that looked just like Zooey Deschanel. She wasn’t from our group, so I was a little skeptical about her at first but she turned out to be a real pilot and a good friend. With daring teamwork, we somehow won our first day encounter fighting against an instructor who was pretending to be the Red Baron in a red Fokker triplane.  In fact,  all of my group won their encounters despite  having older aircraft and so we continued on to the second day of testing. The officers and students of the other school looked stunned and surprised about that, but my friends and I just smiled at each other. I was having great fun, and unfortunately woke up before I could complete the second day’s task. I hope I return to that dream someday. Zooey Deschanel was just so unbelievably spunky and great fun to be in the air with.  I suspect I’m the only one to fly with her in a WWI two seater fighter biplane. Only in my dreams, of course.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

