to a Hoosier, basketball is not a game but life is another story

Anderson Vs. Richmond 2/18/05

Anderson Vs. Richmond 2/18/05 (Photo credit: Adam Julian)

I dribble the length of the court
then shoot the far shot
running out of breath
checking the scoreboard for the points I’ve got

when the score is tied and dead even
I go into an overtime
despite being fouled and shoved and elbowed
I never turn to the ref and whine

and when the game is finally over
alone in a dark and empty locker room
I hear the retreating sounds of the crowd outside
and too late I realize, I’m already buried in my tomb

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on May 12, 2012 - 6:43 am

    Basketball as a metaphor for life. Ah, Hoosier Hysteria, the thing I miss about Indiana the most, I think.

Leave a Reply

