at the end of a long day in May

IMG_0050

IMG_0050 (Photo credit: John.E.Robertson)

now we’re getting somewhere
at last, we know exactly where we are going

we can’t wait to close the door
and pull down the shades
to dim the lights
and put on some romantic music as the light fades

but when we’re finally all alone
and all the noise of the world
and the clamor of the kids is forgotten
we look at each other in total shell-shocked silence

it’s as if we’ve both forgotten
what comes next
then we both look at the comfy king-sized bed
and just want to get some rest

next comes the handy list of generic excuses

you have a headache, my lower back hurts
you have to get up early to take the kids to the dentist
my indigestion makes me want to sleep standing up, anyway
you don’t really feel in the mood, after all
and I would rather spend the final moments of the day on my computer blogging away

now we’re getting nowhere
at least, we know where we’re not going

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on May 14, 2012 - 7:42 am

    This is actually a revision of an old college poem of mine. Some of the more specific nitty-gritty details come from later experience, but the basics were all there. As to why I would write such a poem back in my early 20s, I have no idea. I guess I wrote about a lot of stuff that was totally out of my range of actual life experiences to that point. Simply because I wanted to. I guess. I was a really strange kid.

Leave a Reply

