whatever happened to the four food groups?

The USDA's original food pyramid from 1992.

The USDA’s original food pyramid from 1992. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is it that they are teaching the kids these days about diet and nutrition? Some sort of food pyramid?  It sounds so complicated to me.  How the heck are you supposed to eat six servings of something in a day?  Are we supposed to have second breakfasts, like hobbits?  And how many servings are there in a foot long Subway, anyway?  I was taught the four basic food groups. That is simple, balanced and so elegant. It’s been many years since I was in public school. Let me see, if I can remember them all:

  1. fast food
  2. frozen food
  3. junk food
  4. Pizza

Yes, my memory is foggy, but I think those were the four food groups. To this day, I’m very careful to eat a well balanced diet based upon these four food groups.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Moment Matters on May 16, 2012 - 2:01 pm

    I don’t think that’s what my teachers told me in school, not sure though

    • #2 by RKHouse on May 16, 2012 - 9:01 pm

      LOL. I used to make jokes a lot about my variation of the four food groups, until one day someone informed me that the four food groups were obsolete.

  2. #3 by bellesogni on July 22, 2012 - 11:12 pm

    This post reminds me what I think of whenever I come to your blog. I actually have to force myself not to gobble up all your posts in one sitting, to savor them and make them last. So please do your part by writing faster! (smiles)

    And ah, pass a slice of that pizza that’s over by the fire extinquisher and cane…

Leave a Reply

