sooner or later, it’s time to pay the piper

NYC: National Debt Clock

NYC: National Debt Clock (Photo credit: wallyg)

I pull my empty pants pockets inside out for confirmation
and listen to the music of the ice cream truck pass on by
desperately digging under the sofa cushions looking for coins
and wishing the well of my bank account wasn’t bone dry

of course, money can’t buy me, or anyone, a better life
money can’t help me find a tender heart that thinks I’m special
or cure diseases that burden my family and that have no cure
or undo the wrongs that I’ve done for which I can’t blame the devil

no, the lack of money isn’t the problem, this I understand
life is a gift and a debt that we can never repay, anyway
and I am so deep in debt, yes I’m in life way over my head
I guess, I’ll  just have to keep saying “charge it” and go on my way

, ,

  1. #1 by kvennarad on May 17, 2012 - 5:11 am

    I want all our work to be not-for-sale; like the other day when I helped a neighbour carry her groceries – that wasn’t a commercial transaction, but a social one. You make shoes therefore we all eat; he makes bread therefore we are all entertained; I write poetry therefore we are all shod.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

    • #2 by RKHouse on May 17, 2012 - 6:37 am

      Ah, community. That certainly sounds beautiful and fair, maybe even heavenly, but is it ever really practical? In any good plot, your characters need motivation, don’t they? Isn’t motivation the power behind the plot? If you take way incentives from the most industrious and creative individuals, then what is their motivation? Why would the shoemaker make more and better shoes? Why would the baker make enough bread? In the end, perhaps, all would starve.

      • #3 by kvennarad on May 17, 2012 - 6:52 am

        It worked in Barcelona in 1936.

        Okay it will take a great work of collective metanoia, but by golly I am going to work my ass off for it! 🙂

        M

    • #4 by RKHouse on May 17, 2012 - 7:18 am

      M, I like your spirit and drive. I wish you well and hope you find your own Barcelona 1936, someday.

      I have my own Utopian dreams for the future, too, where our scientists have developed mechanisms for harnessing virtually free, inexhaustible and plentiful energy. Energy that could be used to feed the starving poor in the world, to turn deserts into gardens, to terraform Mars, or to power spaceships to explore the nearby stars.

Leave a Reply

