at the speed of c

Photo of a cloud illuminated by sunlight.

Photo of a cloud illuminated by sunlight. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

mine eyes have seen the light at last
from the farthest twinkling star
reaching out to me from the ancient past
touching my searching soul from afar

I don’t need to read old books of history
to comprehend the way things are
or how things may one day again be
man’s potential to end up extinct like the dinosaur

I’ve sunken to new lows, new depths of dark sorrow
been so close to going underground, deep below
where the light never reaches on the morrow
in a frightful place where it never snows

but I don’t let reality get the best of me and get me down
for my thoughts move with the light, at the speed of c
so, I force myself to smile and leave behind my frown
as I kneel down and pray that such a fate doesn’t have to be

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

