I call her my carousel

World Refugee Day Garfield Park and Crippled S...

World Refugee Day Garfield Park and Crippled Squirrel June 24, 201118 (Photo credit: stevendepolo)

turning and turning
spinning and spinning
round and round

all dizzy and out of breath
my senses reeling and the sky falling
objects rushing past in a whirl
laughing at the feeling
of being pulled in all directions

hanging on for dear life

and then jumping off
and falling down unable to walk
crawling and laughing
until laying on my back
and watching
the world spin around me
overhead

  1. #1 by RKHouse on May 20, 2012 - 4:08 am

    This old college poem was supposed to be about a girl and how she made me feel. Somehow she got lost, I think. It could be because I cut the first line, “falling in love with her was like riding a carousel”. Or maybe the carousel was going a little to fast for her or something. Excuse me, I have to sit down. I’m feeling dizzy.

Leave a Reply

