the other day

Reading glasses

Reading glasses (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I thought of her the other day
a soft echo of a mere wisp of a long forgotten memory
I could almost remember the way her hair bounced
or the warmth I felt when she simply smiled at me

but the years have long covered that path
with the litter of fallen trees, leaves and other decay and debris
there is no way to ever go back and find what was lost
so I sit relaxing and sipping my hot green tea

until a rush of unbidden emotion swells like a mountain spring
and I’m forced to take a moment and wipe the corners of my eyes
then, I slowly fold my reading glasses, set them aside and lean back
close my eyes and try to think of something to say that sounds wise

but nothing comes to my mind worth repeating
so, I think back again to her and the other day
and remember when she was standing just this close to me
and just like today, I couldn’t think of the right thing to say

, , ,

  1. #1 by gladiuspoeticus on May 26, 2012 - 2:50 pm

    Beautiful nostalgia.. I get your feel.

    • #2 by RKHouse on May 26, 2012 - 11:43 pm

      Thank you, gladiuspoeticus.

  2. #3 by bellesogni on August 6, 2012 - 12:50 pm

    A silent film in Technicolor with Surround Sound.

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on December 23, 2012 - 5:06 pm

      I’m glad you liked this one. It is one of my favorites.

  3. #5 by Ronald Kirk House on July 5, 2013 - 2:18 pm

    Reblogged this on It's Just Words.

  4. #6 by slpmartin on July 5, 2013 - 3:14 pm

    A most beautiful poem…the last stanza brings back my own set of memories.

Leave a Reply

