the dry well

Old dry well. Used until c. 1960. Covered for ...

Old dry well. Used until c. 1960. Covered for some 45 years. Bits of earth fell into the hole when the cover was removed. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

told that my lost love was forbidden
so I learned to keep it safely hidden

I put it away somewhere now long forgotten
until I wonder where it has gotten

now my heart has been misplaced
and my emotions have all been erased

leaving behind a cracked and empty shell
with thirsty animals fighting over an old dry well

  1. #1 by gladiuspoeticus on June 11, 2012 - 7:40 am

    you have struck rock bottom; the essence of poetry.

Leave a Reply

