cherry bomb

Legs of a woman

Legs of a woman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I remember fragments of moments with her
long hair and long legs, but that was so long ago
I remember the quick beating of my heart
and that there was so much I didn’t know

her skin was golden and velvet
as we touched silently in the dark
two fumbling and bumbling figures
exploring for some strange spark

we had a few glorious moments like explosions
of illegal cherry bombs lighting up the night sky
then in a flash, it all was over and finished
and I was left wondering how and why

, ,

  1. #1 by jessicamarie19 on June 14, 2012 - 2:16 pm

    There are some good lines here – 2, 5, and 10 especially!

    • #2 by RKHouse on June 14, 2012 - 4:36 pm

      Thank you. I especially liked line 2 myself. It was a line I struggled with. I was also torn between complementing the poem with a picture of fireworks going off and with the one with the legs of a woman. I finally went with the legs to reinforce that line.

      I briefly considered having a fourth stanza

      I would do anything to be with her again
      both of us mature and now in the know
      I know the cherry bombs would still explode
      and this time she wouldn’t ever let me go

      but ended up cutting it back out since it felt weaker and hopefully was implied by the first three stanzas anyway. Not to mention that if we were together again, by some miracle, we would probably both just fall asleep in our comfy recliner chairs and dream of cherry bombs going off in the distance.

Leave a Reply

