one cold morning

Melting Snow Through the Picture Window

Melting Snow Through the Picture Window (Photo credit: Chris Campbell)

a cold air of strange stillness pervades
amplifying my groundless and baseless fears like sound waves
reflected and bouncing in the small dark enclosed space
of an echo chamber in my empty sleepy head

then the morning light like white spears and daggers
unleashed with a sudden mindless fury on the enemy
callously mincing my half remembered dreams
which flutter off like lost butterflies

on the ground the white crystalline sands
like billions of crushed diamonds sparkling
slowly begins to melt leaving behind glistening streams
of water burbling a white noise as background to the chirping birds

the last sharp shadows hasten to leave
as if blaring battle horns sounded a frantic general retreat
so reckless and careless in their hurry to escape
as I come to full awareness and the new day begins

, , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on June 30, 2012 - 9:42 am

    The original of this old college poem was less structured and had a lot of stark images that didn’t really make any sense to me. Short phrases like “naked nude water drops, acid to taste”. What does that mean? The title was “acid and baseless”. So, I just had to cut out the parts that I couldn’t understand and try to put it altogether in something that seemed to make more sense. I did leave it in free verse and I think I captured the essence of what I originally felt that cold morning so long ago. Sadly the part about a “wily old widow at the window” didn’t really fit and was dropped. But it’s ok, since I think she was a figment of my vivid imagination that morning anyways.

Leave a Reply

