all those wonderful words

Words have a power all their own

Words have a power all their own (Photo credit: Lynne Hand)

somehow, magically strung together into the poems that I’ve read
are the words that sing a tune and leave a melody stuck in my head

gentle words that soothe and put me to sleep in my comfy chair
and lighthearted words that make me believe that I’m walking on air

sharp words that cut and send me looking for something for the sting
and words that lift me to the clouds with white doves taking wing

colorful words that paint a picture I can almost hang on my wall
I dig through my dictionary but it just doesn’t give me any help at all

perhaps, my trouble with words is my lack of imagination or that I’m getting old
but compared to all of them, my words just seem so boring and cold

I’m left wondering where do they get all those wonderful words?
and put them together in such ways that never occurred to this simple computer scientist nerd

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on April 14, 2015 - 11:39 pm

    Partly inspired by my reading other poetry blogs and by the Joker’s line in the Batman movie, “Where does he get all those wonderful toys?”

Leave a Reply

