blogging for attention

BLOG IDEAS

BLOG IDEAS (Photo credit: owenwbrown)

perhaps, I am blogging in a selfish attempt to get some attention
or maybe it is my way to relieve my poetic tension

I didn’t think winning blogging awards would make me feel any better
and was at first worried that nominations kind of work like a chain letter

until I realized that blogging connected me to a new community
and that nominating and sharing builds upon that blogging unity

so, I’m sure you are all now waiting with breathless anticipation
for a list of blogs most worthy of your discerning reading consideration

for while a blog answers a writer’s urge of publishing our self-expression
a nomination serves to help us share other blogs that have left a real impression

but please forgive me while I work to compile my own nominations lists
and for the fact that this final line doesn’t have my usual ironic twist

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on July 2, 2012 - 2:38 am

    I finally got around to making a page for blog nominations and thought a little poem would be the best way to call attention to it. The page is not quite ready for prime-time, since I don’t have any nominations up, yet. Still working on that. Still you can refer back to the nominator’s blogs.

    I started trying to compile a list, but discovered that many of my favorite blogs already have a lot of awards. I’d kind of like to nominate blogs that aren’t already recognized. However, I have been spending more time writing that reading, since I was originally focused on getting all my old college poems and songs into my blog. So, I’ll have to work on that.

    Everything in my own way and my own time. I guess.

  2. #2 by Ronald Kirk House on July 21, 2013 - 2:55 am

    Reblogged this on It's Just Words and commented:

    It seems appropriate to reblog this little poem along with a note that my blog award page has been updated. I have to admit that I still haven’t made any nominations of my own. Half out of a fear of bothering someone who may not want an award and half out of just being the lazy old coot that I am. In the meantime, check out my blog roll, if you are interested in such things.

Leave a Reply

