the serenade of sorrow

Microphone

Microphone (Photo credit: visual.dichotomy)

last night she serenaded us
singing loudly out of tune all night from her room
I tried to get some sleep but tossed and turned in my bed
fighting off an ever present uneasy sense of gloom

sometimes she goes for days
without coming out of her room or eating
or she briefly peeks out and runs away
without so much as a greeting

now her room is all silent
and we are all left wondering
is she still alive in there or in the quiet
has doom snuck in and come a plundering

there is nothing more for her that is in my power to do
and so sometimes I near the end of my rope
but I guess despite all my unanswered prayers
as long as she is still here, there is always some hope

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on July 3, 2012 - 10:52 am

    Good news and bad news. Good news is that daughter is still alive. Bad news is that she is singing again this morning (at 3:49am). My wife used to do the singing all night thing, but it wasn’t so bad because she lives downstairs and the rest of us are upstairs. The funny thing was that she used to plug in a microphone and sing into a stereo system that I put in the den, but she would plug it into the headphone jack. She didn’t even notice. Life is funny that way.

Leave a Reply

