the time of the racing thoughts

Thinking RFID

Thinking RFID (Photo credit: @boetter)

if I lie down at night before I am totally tired
my thoughts will fly and my mind will begin to race
and it goes out of my control and focuses on things
that sometimes I’d really rather not face

tunnels that grow ever darker with no hope of escape
mistakes that I’ve made and can never hope to fix
faces that I miss that I will never see again
all of these thoughts that I normally just deep six

so, I do my best to avoid the time of the racing thoughts
and I stay up and keep busy as late as I physically can
knowing that all these thoughts are just waiting for me
looking to find a way to depress this tired old man

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Alarna Rose Gray on November 12, 2012 - 1:03 pm

    Totally understand your experience here… For me, it’s not all the time, or nearly so severe – but it does happen. I call it ‘chatter’. Hope you are able to find peace (not to mention some blissful sleep) 🙂

    • #2 by RKHouse on November 12, 2012 - 5:29 pm

      Chatter is a good name for it . Luckily it doesn’t hit me all the time as the poem says. Of course, I do stay up late most of the time. 🙂

  2. #3 by emmylgant on November 12, 2012 - 1:17 pm

    I call it monkey mind. Can’t stand it. So I turn on the lights and get buried in a totally mindless novels, the kind where all the problems are solved and everything is peachy. It can take a while before my monkey mind retreats though.

    • #4 by RKHouse on November 12, 2012 - 5:36 pm

      Reading is a good approach. “monkey mind” is a good name for it, too. That would have made a better poem, I think. much more imaginative and visual than “racing thoughts”. 🙂

  3. #5 by emmylgant on November 12, 2012 - 8:46 pm

    Nah! racing thoughts has more oomph.

Leave a Reply

