still standing in a small town square

Town square

Town square (Photo credit: Anne Davis)

years have passed since that summer day
when she and I went our separate way
I remember hearing a nearby radio play
and the distant sounds of cars on the freeway

she left me standing there
alone in the small town square
thinking that life wasn’t fair
watching the wind blowing her golden hair

it’s long past too late for anything to ever start
our romance will forever be an incomplete work of art
now we’ve lived our whole lives apart
and I’m still standing there with my broken heart

, ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on August 12, 2012 - 12:46 am

    Nicely done. The wistfulness, hurt, wonder and …regret? Is that what I read in the subtext?

    • #2 by RKHouse on August 12, 2012 - 1:45 am

      Perhaps. My regrets are like black holes, I usually try to steer clear of their gravitational pull.

  2. #3 by emmylgant on August 12, 2012 - 1:51 am

    Wise man.:-)

  3. #4 by Angel on August 12, 2012 - 6:36 pm

    I love this flow – I think I hear the radio and the cars…. a lovely bitter-sweetness kindling my own feelings of an “incomplete work of art.” Beautiful and moving!

  4. #6 by Cristina (@cristina_marita) on April 7, 2014 - 6:28 am

    When you crossed the street i wanted to kiss you hug you and i couldn’t.
    Half of my heart i left it there.

Leave a Reply

