behold the dragons and rats

English: A long sword through a dragon symbol ...

English: A long sword through a dragon symbol Français : Dragon et épée longue entrelacé (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

long sword by my side
still covered in blood
from swarms of demonic rats
that came out of the earth
in an unholy flood
to feed on my carcass
buried in the mud

dragons are circling
and flying overhead
patiently waiting for dinner
as I rest my bones against a tree
in a meadow
where my broken heart bled
and I was dismembered
and left for dead

my strength fades
and I’m unable to stand
in the weight of my ancient armor
covered with bloody stains
while my ipod plays symphonic strains
of something bold and noble and grand
that I no longer remember
or understand

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by bellesogni on August 22, 2012 - 5:57 pm

    What a kicker with the ipod!

  2. #2 by gladiuspoeticus on August 22, 2012 - 8:26 pm

    This is a great surprise! The gladius, my demonic rats as well as one of my recent comments (the sword, the armor and the lonely tree) I do recognize as building stones in your poem! Fantastic! The hell with writer’s block!

    • #3 by RKHouse on August 22, 2012 - 11:38 pm

      After your recent comments, I began thinking of this poem. Perhaps, it’s a little dark, but I like how it turned out.

      • #4 by gladiuspoeticus on August 22, 2012 - 11:47 pm

        I like how you embraced the warrior elements to come up with some real dark poetry. Exporation is the key.

  3. #5 by bellesogni on August 25, 2012 - 1:16 pm

    I read this poem and my imagination sees a genetically altered knight\warrior designed to fight on other worlds. This knight\warrior got left behind when the ship lifted off because they either thought he was dead or too expensive to repair. There is just enough gene modification to keep him alive, perhaps for a little while, perhaps for a long time. He consoles himself with the ancient ipod as his dying mind hallucinates his lost love…

    • #6 by RKHouse on August 25, 2012 - 7:34 pm

      I hadn’t thought of such a science fiction interpretation. Cool.

      One of my favorite things about poetry is how the reader can bring their own imagination and experiences and virtually complete the poem with their own interpretation as they read it, making poetry more of a collaboration than a solo effort. I guess that is why I enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

      • #7 by bellesogni on August 29, 2012 - 10:14 pm

        The reason I write what I see in my mind when I read the poem or song is so that you know how your art is affecting me. Feedback so to speak. A little elaborate at times, but hey, why not? I enjoy it.

        • #8 by RKHouse on August 29, 2012 - 10:19 pm

          I enjoy it, too.

  4. #9 by bellesogni on August 30, 2012 - 6:48 am

    (beaming a smile at you)

Leave a Reply

