looking for a damsel

Frank Bernard Dicksee. Chivalry

Frank Bernard Dicksee. Chivalry (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

tis a dark and dreary life as I gallop by
on my true and brave white steed
forever searching for a damsel in distress
or looking to do some brave deed

such is my sorry misfortune
for the damsels in distress today
can be just a little kinky
and some actually like it that way

and blindly fumbling around
in my armor in a cave in the dark
all the dragons look the same
so, it’s easy to miss my mark

a duel or joust for honor
is always fun and fair
but I’m not sure if there are
any other knights left out there

perhaps, I belong to another time
a time now lost and forgotten
so, I should now put away my armor
and join the common throngs of the misbegotten

, , , ,

  1. #1 by 35andupcynicismonhold on August 26, 2012 - 4:16 pm

    “perhaps, I belong to another time
    a time now lost and forgotten” – oh, misbegotten is the term… :c

    • #2 by RKHouse on August 26, 2012 - 7:56 pm

      I think, I meant to use the term misbegotten in the sense of “badly planned”. I must have felt rather out of place at the time. Hard to say, though, since I was only in high school when I wrote this one. πŸ™‚ I started writing poetry in ninth grade, largely inspired by my enjoyment of Anglo-Saxon poetry that we studied in my 9th grade English course.

      • #3 by 35andupcynicismonhold on August 28, 2012 - 6:03 am

        oh, it’s alright, sir RK. if it meant lost in command (as in a war) or maladjusted (as in young people in society), it’s alright. actually, i love the sentiment here – both the written and the hinted at. and you wrote this in high school, hah! Anglo-Saxon poetry inspired you and now you’re in computers and systems, haha.

        btw, why not try writing new poems (when you’ve the time) and do some comparison of your poems, then and now? now, just a silly idea, hehehe. hello! πŸ˜‰ btw, you may call me San. ^^

    • #4 by RKHouse on August 28, 2012 - 8:10 am

      Hello, San. Please call me Kirk as my friends and family do.

      I’ve actually written more new poems than I would have guessed. A few weeks ago I began creating new categories to separate my poetry and song by time periods. All the poems in the Category of “Poetry (Blog)” are new and were written just for this blog. It took me awhile to go through all the old posts and fix up the categories. I think they are all now correctly identified. There’s only a handful that were written in between college and when I started this blog that are not categorized.

Leave a Reply

