hard to please

First Man On The Moon

First Man On The Moon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

once upon a time
anything was possible
man could walk on the moon
and every problem seemed solvable

no doubt our smart cell phones are cool
but I’m still waiting for the flying cars
and I love my computer and flat screen TV
but I don’t expect to see man set foot on Mars

yes, they mapped the human genome
but we still have mental illness and disease
somehow, this isn’t the future I was expecting
but perhaps, I’m just being a little hard to please

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by bellesogni on September 1, 2012 - 11:46 am

    You’re not being hard to please.
    Does anyone get the future they envision?
    Maybe it’s better that we don’t?

    • #2 by RKHouse on September 1, 2012 - 10:44 pm

      Yeah, it’s probably better that we don’t. I’d be really ticked off if they finally got flying cars just when I’m too old to drive or something. 🙂

      • #3 by bellesogni on September 5, 2012 - 1:56 pm

        (smiles) Me too!

  2. #4 by Bruce Ruston on September 2, 2012 - 3:49 pm

    Really like the last line

  3. #5 by Anne on September 8, 2012 - 9:08 am

    Very nice – I think you sum up how it feels to get older with this poem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

