my muse was not amused

Muse, American marble statue by unknown artist...

Muse, American marble statue by unknown artist (c. 1850). Part of the collection of the Baltimore Museum of Art (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Erato with her crown of roses whispered to me
tonight, why don’t you try to write something lovely?

put your passionate heart and tender soul into it
and unleash your fiery soul and ardent inner spirit

but I sighed that I didn’t know what to say
unless some outside inspiration comes along my way

so she sat next to me and played her musical lyre
hoping that romantic music would light my fire

but I only fell asleep in my easy chair
so, she finally left me alone in disgust and despair

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by bellesogni on September 6, 2012 - 12:01 pm

    Erato with her crown of roses whispered to me
    tonight, why don’t you try to write something lovely?

    put your passionate heart and tender soul into it
    and unleash your fiery soul and ardent inner spirit

    but I sighed that I didn’t know what to say
    unless some outside inspiration comes along my way

    so she sat next to me and played her musical lyre
    hoping that romantic music would light my fire

    but I only fell asleep in my easy chair
    so, she finally left me alone in disgust and despair

    or so I thought until she walked into my dream
    singing to me that things aren’t always as they seem

    she touched my stilled hand then stroked my face
    urging me to rise, stimulating my nocturnal pace

    from warmth and sleep she jerked me awake
    the ideas came quickly, I had poems to make!

    forgive this man, a mere mortal oh Erato fair
    I know now that if I ask you’ll always get me there

    for the rest of the night I wrote until all was right
    then my eyes grew heavy in the pearled morning light

    I thought it a dream until my eyes followed my nose
    bringing a smile to my lips at the sight of the dewy rose

    • #2 by RKHouse on September 6, 2012 - 7:24 pm

      Now, that’s romantic. You have given me a gift I will always treasure!

      • #3 by bellesogni on September 6, 2012 - 9:58 pm

        Thank you, but truly, the gift was already there. I just added a few feminine touches.

  2. #4 by 35andupcynicismonhold on September 6, 2012 - 3:31 pm

    haha, but i am, sir, i am… cool poem. hope things are well on your side. 🙂

    • #5 by RKHouse on October 19, 2012 - 10:17 am

      LOL. So, glad you were amused. This one was fun for sure, San!

  3. #6 by gladiuspoeticus on September 7, 2012 - 4:35 am

    The smile won’t leave face 🙂

    • #7 by RKHouse on October 19, 2012 - 10:20 am

      I suspect even my muse got a laugh out of that one. After she forgave me, of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

