are we there yet?

Gravel Road

Gravel Road (Photo credit: compujeramey)

dark clouds are forming off in the distance
as I’m lost and adrift, floating in an endless blue sea
and like sharks with lifeless eyes biding their time
a dark something somehow circles around me endlessly

each night alone in my room
I feel it tug and pull at me like black hole gravity
from which escape is not possible
and all roads lead back to same point of inevitability

moving on down the gravel road to my final destination
I am in the driver seat breaking out in a cold sweat
as I hear my youthful voice from the back seat
exclaim impatiently “are we there yet?”

, , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on September 11, 2012 - 9:10 am

    I saw some commercial on TV with a various kids saying “are we there yet?”. Not sure what they were selling. I didn’t bother to notice, but I thought I should write a poem around that age old question. I remember, my sisters and I driving my poor parents crazy asking them the same thing so many years ago on every long trip.

  2. #2 by Anne on September 11, 2012 - 9:17 am

    I was not expecting that ending! Great withholding 😀

    • #3 by RKHouse on September 11, 2012 - 9:49 am

      Thank you. I sometimes start with the idea of the last line, or two, first and then think of how to write my little poems to get back to them. 🙂

  3. #4 by bellesogni on September 18, 2012 - 3:31 pm

    Poignant.

Leave a Reply

