a decade of popboomerang records

how long has it been Scotty, since we first began to trade?
and you sent me CDs from down under bands that for the first time I played

like Michael Carpenter, You Am I, Even, and the delicious Icecream Hands
and so many other great, previously unknown to me, Australian power pop bands

we finally met when you came to L.A. for the International Pop Overthrow
that was such a good time and a really great power pop show

then you started your label, called popboomerang records
and released a decade of great music with melodic sounds and harmonic chords

for years, I’ve always said that your taste in music is second to none
so, here’s hoping that popboomerang records will have another decade of musical fun!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by 35andupcynicismonhold on September 29, 2012 - 11:51 am

    haha, a very nice, sweet tribute. you’re cool, sir RK… i hope i get the time to listen to their songs. btw, thanks for coming over. have a restful weekend 😉

    • #2 by RKHouse on October 3, 2012 - 10:58 am

      Thanks. Many years ago I spent a lot of time seeking out new music in the style that I like to add to my collection. Unfortunately, my collection is so big that it doesn’t fit on my 160 GB Ipod classic anymore. So, I have largely stopped looking for new music as a result. Back then, I traded CDs and mix tapes with people in places like Sweden, France, Canada and Australia. Scotty and I traded a lot. His mix tapes and CDs always showed a great musical taste, in my opinion. Certainly a shared musical taste. If you do get the opportunity to listen to some of the popboomerang sounds, I hope that you will enjoy them as much as I do.

  2. #3 by 35andupcynicismonhold on October 5, 2012 - 5:07 am

    wow, you’re really an afficionado and a collector. so, some of your musings and poetry must be influenced by the records you listen to… that’s a whole lot more interesting than collecting stamps, haha ( i used to, a century back). you and Mr. Scotty are on a first-name basis, how cool… what i can’t reconcile is you deal with computers and such… oh, i won’t ry to reconcile them anymore, haha. hello, sir RK… 😉

Leave a Reply

