broken promises

Broken Promises?

Broken Promises? (Photo credit: iampeas)

she has a history of broken promises
like the worst kind of politician
if I could only change that fact
I would be some kind of a magician

but I know that it’s not really her fault
and it is better for me to just forgive
for there are real mental illness issues
that together we must overcome to live

still sometimes I can’t help but feel hurt
each time that she has again let me down
and each time it gets a littler harder
to restore my smile from a heart broken frown

,

  1. #1 by Dunhamm97 on October 8, 2012 - 1:39 am

    I really enjoy your stuff… you should check out my site. It’s a bit different, but I hope you’ll like it.

    http://www.worldbreakdown.com

    • #2 by RKHouse on November 10, 2012 - 9:57 am

      I find your site very interesting. Keep it up.

  2. #3 by bellesogni on October 8, 2012 - 8:32 pm

    I’m sending you a hug with a prayer in my hand for you both.

    • #4 by RKHouse on October 8, 2012 - 8:59 pm

      Thanks. You’re sweet. Hugs are one of my favorite things.

  3. #5 by Sylvie on October 12, 2012 - 6:05 am

    This poem feels very blunt and real and hard hitting. I like it, but I hope you’re not going through too much of a hard time!

    • #6 by RKHouse on October 13, 2012 - 10:01 am

      Thank you. I really appreciate your comment and your concern. Truthfully, I’ve had harder times and survived, but it does sometimes feel like the cumulative effects are wearing me down. It helps to write about it. I’ve gotten a lot of satisfaction out of writing my blog and reading other blogs over the last year.

  4. #7 by gladiuspoeticus on October 12, 2012 - 6:12 am

    Beautifully expressed. Power to you, Brother House!

    • #8 by RKHouse on October 13, 2012 - 10:26 am

      Thank you for your support and encouragement. Many times the highlight of a tiring day for me comes from reading one of your poems. You so often intrigue me to follow up and read more about the many different topics that you explore so masterfully. For example, I had no idea that mercury was still being used today for gold mining. I had thought that was only something that had happened in the historical past. So sad. Those are powerful poems you write, sir!

      • #9 by gladiuspoeticus on October 13, 2012 - 10:33 am

        That’s why I write them, for people like you. Thanks! 🙂

  5. #10 by a beautiful mess on October 18, 2012 - 8:55 am

    I empathize so completely with your emotions, in a very specific way. Maybe we will only master our lives by mastering our minds, by finding the center of who we are, what we believe in, what we hope for our future, and what holds it all together: LOVE. To have it back, given upon us, we must first already dwell there. In the selflessness and the surrender of it.

    • #11 by RKHouse on October 18, 2012 - 10:41 am

      Such beautiful and thoughtful sentiments. Obviously the well of your soul runs deep and pure.

Leave a Reply

