I guess I got carried away

Sandy Beach

Sandy Beach (Photo credit: Varin Tsai)

she was the soothing rhythmic sound
of ocean waves hitting
against a long sandy beach

each morning, I walked on the beach alone
with sea gulls noisily complaining
of my unwelcome trespass

finally, I sat down and waited
until the rising tide lifted and carried me
back home to the sea where I belong

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by rynnasaryonnah on October 29, 2012 - 1:50 pm

    This reminds me of the time a friend sent me a video taken along the coast line. I could hardly hear what was being said because of them sea gulls going crazy. UGH!

  2. #3 by bellesogni on November 13, 2012 - 6:13 am

    You make me cry.

    • #4 by RKHouse on November 13, 2012 - 11:59 am

      This one, the “hidden hot springs in my heart”, and “her tender voice” are some of my favorite recent poems, I think. They are all pulled from someplace deep inside of me and ring so true to me.

  3. #5 by bellesogni on December 9, 2012 - 2:00 pm

    I read this again and it is still so moving. Is there such a thing as a hauntingly beautiful tragedy? There must be because I’ve seen it here.

    • #6 by RKHouse on December 10, 2012 - 8:14 am

      Thanks. This is one of my favorite free verse poems, I think.

      Tragedy always makes me cry, too. I can’t read or watch them as much as I liked to do in my youth, though. I get too emotional.

Leave a Reply

