the only key

Key

Key (Photo credit: zebble)

say to me what you really feel
and I will reply in kind
only you can make up your mind
and you hold the only key

often times, we never quite find
the opportune chance to express or say
that we really feel this or that way
but perhaps this time we will be gutsy

either way the future begins after today
and with time young hearts will grow old
but the mistake of the shy, not the bold
is to take the path to avoid painful reality

so tell me true that the air now grows cold
and what will be, inevitably will be
as long as you tell it to me honestly
I will bow my head and simply agree

, ,

  1. #1 by bellesogni on November 13, 2012 - 6:07 am

    Truth again and a sad commentary on how we all ask for it, but…

    • #2 by RKHouse on November 13, 2012 - 11:44 am

      I wanted to revise this old college poem and add in something about the way I always seem to have that one key on my key ring that I don’t know what it unlocks. Still, I’m afraid to throw the key away because it obviously was a key to something important or it wouldn’t be on my key ring. πŸ™‚ But it didn’t really fit and I was tired, so this poem is basically unchanged from the original except the title was just “the key”.

  2. #3 by 35andupcynicismonhold on November 14, 2012 - 5:52 am

    this hurts, truly… the things that must be said yet, are left unsaid… πŸ˜‰

    • #4 by RKHouse on November 14, 2012 - 9:07 am

      Sadly, some doors never get unlocked and are left forever unopened.

  3. #6 by emmylgant on November 14, 2012 - 8:44 am

    Sucker punch to the heart on that one RK. So devastating, so human, so full of emotion…i agree, it hurts.

    • #7 by RKHouse on November 14, 2012 - 9:36 am

      Ah, the human condition. I don’t really remember what inspired this old one. So much is now forgotten in the fog. I suspect this is the only poem where I rhymed the 2nd and 3rd lines of each stanza with the first line of the following stanza and all the last lines of all the stanzas. I imagine that I enjoyed doing that. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

