watching the wreck

Wreck

Wreck (Photo credit: anyjazz65)

in his youth he fancied himself a savior
a great idealistic leader
destined to save the world of tomorrow
from the hopelessness of today

but no one wanted to be saved

in old age he fancied himself a prophet
a kindly old gray haired sage
using wise words to warn
of the future sorrows to come our way

but no one cared to listen

so he finally fancied himself a nobody
a nondescript average man
standing silently at the side of the road
watching the inevitable wreck unfold

, , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on November 11, 2012 - 8:08 am

    The path of wisdom … it is what it is.

    • #2 by RKHouse on November 11, 2012 - 9:17 am

      All the old high school and college poems in this blog after August come from my “junk” pile. I did find it interesting that this one sounds like something I might write today. 🙂 Although, I would probably have tried to make it rhyme and give it more detail. I wasn’t sure I could do much to fix it. Finally, I changed the point of view to third person and gave it a new title. The original title was “what to do?” The single lines were originally full stanzas which I cut for more impact and because they were so weak and repetitive. Each ended with the question “what to do?”

  2. #3 by bellesogni on November 13, 2012 - 6:05 am

    Such a truth on aging and humans.

    • #4 by RKHouse on November 13, 2012 - 11:39 am

      Although I wrote this as a teenager, it is something I could have written recently, I think. Although I don’t remember the actual inspiration for it, it might have been from a conversation with my Dad. I remember that he asked me once what I was wanting to do and I told him I wanted to be a philosopher. He pointed out to me that there weren’t a lot of job openings for that. 🙂

  3. #5 by bellesogni on December 9, 2012 - 2:04 pm

    Maybe it’s more of a second job. Or a first job with the other one just used as a means to continue doing the first? In any case, you are very good at it.

    • #6 by RKHouse on December 10, 2012 - 8:02 am

      Thanks. I wonder what my boss would think if I added “philosopher poet” to my business card next to “computer scientist”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

