the ballad of the spacer’s guild

Rocket Ship Galileo

Rocket Ship Galileo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

we’re the first to go to explore each new star
in our mighty silver starships
we travel so fast and so very far

each mission we follow the standard plan
searching each new star system
looking for a planet were we can land

if a pretty alien damsel is in distress
first we’ll rush in to save her
then we’ll clean up all the rest of the mess

a bug-eyed monster from Altair we’ll kill
then before we leave to go on our way
some lonely alien heart we will steal

yes, we’re rough and we’re tough
been on every dangerous world in this good galaxy
and everywhere we go, we don’t take no guff

along the way, we’ll fight and save the day
cause that’s the way
that we earn our spacer pay

chorus:

we love space and we love to fight
and we know wrong from right
only we will never fail or yield
we’re the men and women of the spacer’s guild

, , , ,

  1. #1 by bellesogni on November 13, 2012 - 6:01 am

    Course I thought of Star Trek, but the mention of Altair made me also think of “Forbidden Planet” which then made me think of all the old space stories, comics and TV shows like ‘Flash Gordon”.

    • #2 by RKHouse on November 13, 2012 - 10:57 am

      “Forbidden Planet” is one of my favorite Science Fiction movies! So, I’m sure I also was thinking of that movie at the time I wrote the line, although the monster from the id wasn’t exactly bug eyed. A lot of “Flash Gordon” era stuff was in my mind, too.

      I didn’t change much on this one. I was politically correct and changed the line “the men of the spacer’s guild” to “the men and women of the spacer’s guild”. But, now that I think about it, who would want to go out into space without women anyway? Not me. Flash had Dale, after all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. #3 by 35andupcynicismonhold on November 15, 2012 - 4:50 am

    ahaha! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

