it’s an old story

Finger, pointing

Finger, pointing (Photo credit: Joelk75)

so, my one true love does not exist
she faded away like the early morning mist
and left without so much as an ironic twist

the fungus grows amid chapters of rotting decay
the plot line is pain and words turn to gray
as the memory lingers and hope slowly ebbs away

my heart beats slow and fingers grow icy cold
and it becomes easier to be shy and less bold
so, this old story has already been told

, ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on November 16, 2012 - 7:00 pm

    This old college poem from my junk pile is heavily revised. Original was called “it’s just a feeling” and each stanza started with the repeated line of “I have a feeling”. I don’t like that kind of repetition like I used to. It seems wasteful to repeat words unnecessarily and without purpose. So, I cut those lines. Remaining lines were reworded and I decided to try to focus the poem on the “story” line. There were also several more stanzas that were cut completely that now seemed totally off-topic or were just weak.

Leave a Reply

